’76’, Funke Akindele Wins Big At AMVCA 2017


The 2017 African Magic Viewers Choice Award (AMVCA), the biggest awards for movies and television in Africa took place last night in Lagos at the Convention Centre of the Eko Hotel and Suites. 76 and Funke Akindele were the biggest winners on the night.

76 won 5 awards on the night including Best Best Movie, Best Actress, Best Director, Best Costume Designer and Best Art Director. 76, is a historical fiction drama about a young officer from the Middle Belt who gets into a romantic relationship with an O-level student from the South-eastern region. However, their relationship is strained by constant military postings. The soldier gets accused of being involved in the 1976 unsuccessful military coup and assassination of General Murtala Mohammed, and the heavily pregnant wife, gets entangled in an emotional dilemma.

Funke Akindele, the actress and producer went hoe with two awards- Best Actress in Comedy and Best TV Series with Jenifa’s Diary. The Best Actor and Best Actress awards goes to Sambasa Nzeribe and Rita Dominic respectively.

Here is the full list of winners:

Best Makeup Artist – Hakeem Onilogbo Ajibola and Perekeme Odon for Oloibiri

Best Costume Designer – Pat Egwurube for ’76

Best Art Director – Pat Nebo for ’76

Best Sound Editor – Guy Steer for VAYA

Best Picture Editor – Nnodim Chigozie and Paula Peterson for Oloibiri

Best Lighting Designer – Elliot Sewape for 93 Days

Best Cinematographer – Lance Gewer for Happiness Is A Four Letter Word

Best Short Film/Online Video – Ogo Okpue for Cat Face

Best Documentary – Uga Carlini for Alison

AMVCA Recognition Award for the best MNet series – Hustle

Best Actor in a Comedy Series – Samuel Ajibola for The Johnsons

Best Actor in MNet Drama Series – David Jones David for Hotel Majestic

Best Comedy Series – The Johnsons

Best MNet Drama Series – Tinsel

Best Indigenous Language Movie (Swahili) – Zilizala

Best Indigenous Language (Hausa) – Tijani Shehu Yahaya for Yaki Da Zuciya

Best Indigenous Language Movie (Yoruba) – Abiodun Jimoh and Jumoke Odetola for Somewhere In The Dark

“Best Indigenous Language Movie/Series (Igbo) – Crey Ahanonu for Amonye Bu Onye

Best Soundtrack (Original Score) Michael Ogunlade for The Encounter

Best TV Show – Funke Akindele for Jenifa’s Diary

Award for Best Writer (Movie/TV Series) goes to the writers of VAYA

Best Supporting Actress – Ebele Okaro Onyuike for Four One Love

Best Supporting Actor – Rotimi Salami for Just Got Married

Best Actress Comedy (Movie/TV Series) Funke Akindele for Jenifa’s Diary

Best Actor Comedy (Movie/TV Series) – Ime Bishop Umoh for The Boss is Mine

Trailblazer Award – Somkele Iyamah-Idhalama

Industry Merit Award – Chika Okpala aka Chief Zebrudaya

Best Movie East Africa – Sarika Hemi Lakhani for Kati Kati

Best Movie West Africa – Rogers Ofime for Oloibiri

Best Movie Southern Africa – Elvis Chuks for All About Love

Best Actress (Drama/Movie/TV Series) – Rita Dominic for ’76

Best Actor (Drama/Movie/TV Series) – Sambasa Nzeribe for Slow Country

Best Director – Izu Ojukwu for ’76

Best Movie – ’76


About Author

Akin Akingbala is an international journalist based in Lagos, Nigeria. Aside being happily married, he has interests in music, sports and loves traveling.

Leave A Reply

Powered by Live Score & Live Score App