Banire, Timi Alaibe, Pauline Talline, Patricia Etteh And 205 Others Appointed Board Chairmen By Buhari


After almost 3 years in office, President Muhammadu Buhari yesterday made a huge leap with the appointment of 209 board chairmen and 1,258 members of government-owned agencies and parastatals, in partial fulfilment of the pledge he made on 31 October at the National Executive Committee meeting of his All Progressives Congress.

The last batch of appointees was announced by the Secretary to the Federal Government, Boss Mustapha who said more are on the way. This batch of appointment is the biggest of the Buhari’s administration and it comprises some of the bigwigs of the ruling All Progressives Congress.

Muiz Banire, the legal adviser of APC is now the chairman of the Asset Management Company of Nigeria(AMCON). Senator Olorunimbe Mamora is the chairman of Abuja Investment and Infrastructure Centre. APC’s secretary, Mai Mala Buni, is the chairman of the Shippers Council. Malam Bolaji Abdullahi, the publicity secretary of the party is to take charge at the National Sugar Development Council(NSDC).
Demola Seriki, a former minister of state for defence is named the chairman of the National Maritime Academy of Nigeria in Oron. Former Speaker House of Representatives, Patricia Olubunmi Etteh is the new chairman of the National Hospital, Abuja. A former deputy speaker, Chibudom Nwuche is in charge of Federal Medical Centre Lokoja.
Dr Leke Pitan, a former commissioner for health in Lagos,  was appointed the chairman of National Agricultural Extension Research Liaison Services in Zaria. Teju Philips, also a former Lagos commissioner is the chairman of Federal College of Agriculture, Ibadan. Pastor Yomi Kasali will head the Nigerian Christian Pilgrims Commission.
Chief George Moghalu is the chairman of the Nigerian Communications Satellite (NIGCOMSAT). General John Shagaya is the chairman of National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies, Kuru Jos.
Former governors of Ekiti State, Otunba Niyi Adebayo, and Engineer Segun Oni were also named as chairmen. Adebayo is in charge of Federal Airports of Nigeria (FAAN). Oni who is a vice-chairman of the APC has been posted to Nigerian Export Processing Zone. while Senator Ayo Arise, a recent kidnap victim will chair Sheda Science and Technology Complex.
The former deputy governor of Plateau state, Pauline Tallen is the new chairman of National Agency for the Control of HIV/AIDS (NACA). The former deputy governor of Ondo state, Alhaji Ali Olanusi, will chair the Benin-Owena River Basin Development Authority, while a former deputy governor of Lagos, Femi Pedro is the chairman of Small and Medium Enterprise Development Agency of Nigeria.
Timi Alaibe, former Managing director of the Niger Delta Development Commission, is heading to Oil and Gas Free Zone Authority as chairman.
According to Boss Mustapha, all the appointments take immediate effect. The ministers under whom the agencies fall have been asked to constitute the boards immediately.
Said Mustapha: ” Mr. President considered the approval for the constitution of the Boards as well as the appointments, very necessary, so as to provide a proper Governance and oversight structure for Government Agencies and Parastatals.
“The constitution of the boards with the appointments is a demonstration of this Government’s efforts aimed at building strong institutions of Governance, and by extension, improving the quality of Policy formulation and supervision”, he added.
Meanwhile, the error in the appointments has come to light. It was undercovered that 3 dead men were appointment board chairmen. The retired Deputy Inspector General of Police and elder statesman, Donald Ugbaja, who died in November, was appointed a member of Consumer Protection Council, late founder of Fidei Polytechnic, Rev Fr Christopher Utov, who died in March this year, was also appointed as a member of Nigeria Institute of Social and Economic Research and Late Senator Francis Okpozo, who died December 26 last year in Benin City, now appointed to chair the board of the Nigerian Press Council.


About Author

Akin Akingbala is an international journalist based in Lagos, Nigeria. Aside being happily married, he has interests in music, sports and loves traveling.

Leave A Reply

Powered by Live Score & Live Score App